Commission finalizes report for new province

ISLAMABAD: A Parliamentary Commission on new provinces in Punjab on Saturday has decided that new province in Punjab will be named as Bahawalpur South Punjab province.

The commission report has been finalised and it will be presented in the National Assembly session in next week, told a member of commission to APP, outside the Parliament House.

He said the commission has decided that Mainwali and Bhakkar districts would also be included in the new province Bahawalpur South Punjab.

He said the bill was drafted keeping in view all matters related to new province, including distribution of financial resources.

Senator Farhatullah Babar, the Chairman of Commission, said that nation would hear good news soon in this regard.

MNA and Commission Member Jamsheed Ahmed Dasti said new province was demand of People of South Punjab and Bahawlpur adding that PPP led government going to fulfil their demand according to constitution.

To a question, he said all members of Commission played their important role for preparation of report.

He hoped that PML-N will support the bill of Bahawalpur South Punjab province.

Talking to APP, Former Prime Minister and Senior Vice Chairman of PPP Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani has said that the formation of a new province for the people of south Punjab would be formed before elections.

He said that some people were opposing the new province for their vested interests but they would have to face defeat. He said the creation of a new province is the voice of the downtrodden who have been facing tremendous problems for a long time.

To a question, he said South Punjab province will be formed before the general elections according to will of people.

Replying to another question, Gilani said that province would be created at any cost because this was the demand of people of South Punjab and a resolution was also passed by the Punjab Assembly to create a new province in the Punjab.