ECP registers 19 new political parties for upcoming polls

-File photo

ISLAMABAD: Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) have registered 19 new political parties with a total of 216 parties for the upcoming elections, Aaj news reported on Tuesday.

A prominent new party includes Tehreek e Tahafuz e Pakistan of  DR.Abdul Qadeer Khan.

ECP has also assigned 171 symbols for the election. However eliminated the ‘cat’ symbol upon the request of Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PMLN) due to its resemblance to its own election symbol ‘tiger’.

The commission have also rejected the ‘Loota’ symbol finding some concerns over it.

Today, During the meeting of ECP, Secretary Election Commission informed the Prime Minister that a code of conduct has also been prepared by the Election Commission prohibiting display of weapons during election campaign.

The Prime Minister appreciated the decision.

The Secretary briefed the Prime Minister that candidates will have to specify venues of their public meetings and said the Election Commission will permit them to hold meetings in consultation with the local administration.

Similarly, rallies and processions brought out by candidates will have to follow specified routes approved by ECP.

The upcoming general elections may be held by the end of April or by first week of May next year, senior PPP sources told Aaj news. The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has set December 31, 2012 as its target by which time it will be ready to conduct general elections.