Pakistan Asia cup squad announced; Misbah leads

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has officially announced the Pakistan squad for the upcoming ODI tournament Asia Cup, in Lahore today.

Misbah Ul Haq will continue leading the team.

The national team will arrive in Dhaka on March 7 to play in the quad-nation Asia Cup. India who is also the defending champion will be participating along with Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.

Retaining most of the players from the ODI series against England, Shoaib Malik and Imran Farhat were dropped from the squad.

Batsmen Nasir Jamshed and wicket keeper Sarfaraz Ahmed were given a chance to prove their abilities, while the veteran Shoaib Malik and Imran Farhat were dropped. Wicket keeper Adnan Akmal was also dropped from the squad.

The Pakistani team would consist of Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicket Keeper), Younus Khan, Shahid Afridi, Azhar Ali, Asad Shafique, Umar Akmal, Mohammed Hafeez, Nasir Jamshed, Hammad Azam, Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman, Aizaz Cheema, Umar Gul and Wahab Riaz.

The event will start from 11 March, the final will be played on 22 March, Asia Cup is hosted by Bangladesh.