England name squads for ODI & T20 Series

Experienced middle-order batsman Ian Bell was Tuesday dropped from England’s one-day squad after struggling to find his form during his team’s 3-0 Test defeat to Pakistan.

The 29-year-old managed just 51 runs in six innings and failed to cope against spinner Saeed Ajmal, who finished with 24 wickets in the series.

Pakistan romped to a 71-run win in the third Test on Monday.

Hampshire spinner Danny Briggs and Somerset batsman Jos Buttler were included in the 16-man one-day squad for the first time.

Buttler made his international Twenty20 debut against India last year but is yet to play for England in the 50-over format.

Alastair Cook will lead England in the four-match one-day series which starts in Abu Dhabi on February 13.

Stuart Broad will captain a 15-man Twenty20 squad that includes Nottinghamshire’s Alex Hales for the three-match T20 series against Pakistan.

Paceman Tim Bresnan is also included subject to fitness.

“Bresnan’s inclusion in both squads is subject to a fitness assessment during the preparation period as he continues his recovery following an elbow

operation,” said the England and Wales Cricket Board.

Bresnan was forced to return home from Dubai last month, barely three days into the tour, after failing to recover from last year’s elbow operation.

“We have selected two squads that include both experienced international players and younger players who have performed strongly for England Lions in

recent months and deserve an opportunity,” said national selector Geoff Miller.

Buttler, 21, hit two centuries and a half-century in his last five innings against Sri Lanka A, including one century from just 56 deliveries, while 20-year-old Briggs is one of three spinners in the 16-man squad.

England ODI squad: Alastair Cook (captain), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Craig Kieswetter, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, Kevin Pietersen, Graeme Swann, Jonathan Trott.

England T20 squad: Stuart Broad (captain), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Jos Buttler, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Craig Kieswetter, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, Kevin Pietersen, Graeme Swann.