ICC award ceremony to held today

England batsmen Alastair Cook and Jonathan Trott are in the hunt to cap a stunning 12 months after being included on the shortlist for the ICC Cricketer of the Year award. Cook bounced back from a lean time with the bat to star in the Ashes series win in Australia in 2010-2011 and continued the form throughout the year. He has been joined on the shortlist by England team-mate Trott, Sachin Tendulkar and Hashim Amla.

An independent 25-person academy cast their votes and the quartet are in the running to receive the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy at a ceremony in London on 12 September 2011.

In addition, Trott and Cook are also short-listed for the ICC Test Player of the Year alongside England team-mate James Anderson and South Africa`s Jacques Kallis at the eighth annual LG ICC Awards, presented in association with the Federation of International Cricketers` Associations (FICA).

The ICC Awards ceremony is now in its eighth year and a host of awards will be presented on September 12.

ICC Awards nominees 2011

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year

Hashim Amla (SA), Alastair Cook (Eng), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind), Jonathan Trott (Eng)

ICC Test Player of the Year

James Anderson (Eng), Alastair Cook (Eng), Jacques Kallis (SA), Jonathan Trott (Eng)

ICC ODI Player of the Year

Hashim Amla (SA), Gautam Gambhir (Ind), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), Shane Watson (Aus)

ICC Emerging Player of the Year

Azhar Ali (Pak), Devendra Bishoo (WI), Darren Bravo (WI), Wahab Riaz (Pak)

ICC Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year

Ryan ten Doeschate (Ned), Hamid Hassan (Afg), Kevin O`Brien (Ire), Paul Stirling (Ire)

ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year

Tim Bresnan (Eng) – 3-10-3-4 v Pakistan, Cardiff, 7 September 2010

JP Duminy (SA) – 96 not out (54b, 10×4, 4×6) v Zimbabwe, Kimberley, 10 October 2010

Tim Southee (NZ) – 4-1-18-5 v Pakistan, Auckland, 26 December 2010

Shane Watson (Aus) – 59 (31b, 6×4, 3×6) v England, Adelaide, 12 January 2011

ICC Women`s Cricketer of the Year

Charlotte Edwards (Eng), Lydia Greenway (Eng), Shelley Nitschke (Aus), Stafanie Taylor (WI)

David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year

Aleem Dar, Steve Davis, Ian Gould, Simon Taufel

ICC Spirit of Cricket

MS Dhoni (Ind), – for his recall of Ian Bell during the second Test match between England and India at Trent Bridge, July/August 2011

Jacques Kallis (SA) – for twice during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 walking after clarifying with the opposition fielder if they had caught the ball cleanly

People`s Choice Award

Hashim Amla (SA), MS Dhoni (Ind),Chris Gayle (WI), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), Jonathan Trott (Eng)