BCCI General Meeting 2011 to be held today

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will elect new office bearers in the 82nd Annual General Meeting 2011 (AGM 2011), scheduled to be held on Monday.
However, there is no contest for the key posts as the BCCI election is a straightforward affair.

Secretary N Srinivasan is already poised to take over as the new BCCI chief from incumbent Shashank Manohar.

According to a BCCI statement, Sanjay Jagdale, the current joint-secretary of the board, will replace N Srinivasan as the board’s honorary secretary.

BCCI vice president Rajiv Shukla is all set to take over as new IPL chairman after incumbent Chirayu Amin offered to resign because of other commitments.

On the other hand, board has decided to retain the three of the five zonal vice presidents. Arun Jaitly will continue as the head of North Zone while Shivlal Yadav and Niranjan Shah will be representatives of south and west zone respectively.

Cricket Association of Bengal (CAG) official, Chitrak Mitra, will replace Arindam Ganguly in the office while Former President of Vidarbha Cricket Association, Sudhir Dahir, will step-in as the representative of Central Zone.

It is expected that there will not be major changes in the selection committee. BCCI will extend the term of Kris Srikanth as the chairman of national selection committee.

However, Yashpal Sharma’s term as the selection committee member is over and it is expected that Mohinder Amranath will replace him.