APC continues to discuss Pak-US strained relations

Politicians from all shades will gather here on Thursday for a brain-storming session to review the serious challenges to national security and will evolve a strategy to counter threats at all fronts.

Prime Minister Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani will host the crucial All Parties Conference (APC) here at the PM House, soon after the Zuhr prayers to take a threadbare look at the overall security situation, particularly in the wake of serious charges levelled by the US officials against Pakistan and its military establishment.

The political leadership would be briefed by senior military officials about the ground situation and the available options. The political leadership is likely to come up with suggestions to forcefully project Pakistan’s stance and clear the misperceptions about its security forces.

The meeting would also take into account the heavy toll, the nation has taken in human and financial terms, over the years for being a front-line state and the fact that it was still being criticized for not doing enough.

Around 92 political parties are expected to attend the All Parties Conference.

The Prime Minister House on Wednesday confirmed that about the political leaders who have confirmed their participation. These include Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif President PML (N), Senator Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain President PML-Q, Syed Haider Abbas Rizvi MQM, Asfandyar Wali Khan President ANP, Maulana Fazl-ur-Rehman of JUI (F), Haji Khuda Bux Rajar Minister for Narcotics Control from PML (F), Haji Munir Khan Aurakzai MNA from FATA, Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao MNA of PPP (S), Ghulam Murtaza Khan Jatoi MNA of National Peoples Party (NPP), Senator Mir Israrullah Zehri of BNP (A), Syed Munawar Hassan of Jamaat-e-Islami, Mir Zafarullah Khan Jamali former Prime Minister, Mehmood Khan Achakzai of PKMAP, Senator Salim Saifullah Khan from PML, Sheikh Rashid Ahmad of PML (A), Imran Khan Chief of PTI, Hasil Khan Bazenjo NPB, Allama Sajid Ali Naqvi of TJP, Senator Shahid Hassan Bugti of JWP, Akhtar Mengal of BNP (Mengal Group), Dr Tahir-ul-Qadri of Tehrik-e-Minhaj-ul-Quran, Hamid Ali Shah Moosvi of TNFJ, Maulana Sami-ul-Haq of JUI (S), M Sarwat Ejaz Qadri President Sunni Tahrik, Haji Muhammad Hanif Tayyab President Nizam-e-Mustafa Party, Sahibzada Abu Khair Muhammad Zubair of JUP (N), Pir Fazal Haq President Jamiat Mashaikh Sahibzada Haji Muhammad Fazal Karim, Chairman Sunni Ittehad Council, Khan Amanullah Khan PML (Q), Dr Paul Bhatti Advisor to the Prime Minister on National Harmony, Ameer Hussain Gilani, Mufti Feroze Din Hazarvi, Mutahidda Ulema Forum Pakistan, Abdul Qadeer Khamosh, Allama Tahir Ashrafi, Chairman Ulema Council Bait-ul-Aman, Sardar Attique Ahmad Khan, former Prime Minister AJK, Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan, Leader of the Opposition in National Assembly, Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri Leader of Opposition in Senate and Rasul Bux Palejo.