PM approves to de-notify PCO judges

Prime Minister Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani on Sunday de-notified the judges of Lahore and Sindh High Courts in pursuance of the decision of Chief Justice of Pakistan Iftikhar Chaudhry, also the Chairman, Supreme Judicial Council.

The judges of Lahore High Court whose de-notification has been issued includes Justice Syed Shabbar Raza Rizvi, Justice Syed Hamid Ali Shah, Justice Hasnat Ahmad Khan and Justice Syed Sajjad Hussain Shah.

The appointment of Justice Mrs. Yasmin Abbasey at High Court of Sindh has also been de-notified.

A Prime Minister House statement said that the above judges will be entitled for the service and pensioner benefit upto April 20, 2011 when Eighteenth Constitutional Amendment was passed.

“The Prime Minister attaches great importance to the independence of judiciary. The designs of certain elements to pitch the institutions against each other will be foiled,” the statement added.