India win 2011 cricket World Cup

Gautam Gambhir and skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni starred as India beat Sri Lanka by six wickets to win the World Cup final at the Wankhede Stadium on Saturday.

Gambhir, dropped on 30 and nearly run out on 49, made 97 to put India within sight of victory after openers Virender Sehwag (nought) and Sachin Tendulkar (18) both fell cheaply to fast bowler Lasith Malinga.

Man-of-the-match Dhoni (91 not out) and man-of-the-tournament Yuvraj Singh (21 not out) then finished the job.

Earlier Mahela Jayawardene made 103 not out as Sri Lanka posted 274 for six after winning the toss.