SC suspends PC’s recommendations over additional judges

The Supreme Court on Thursday suspended Parliamentary Committee’s recommendations over rejection of names of four Additional Judges of the Lahore High Court.

A two members bench of Justice Mahmood Akhtar Shahid Siddiqui and Justice Jawwad S. Khawja issued direction on a constitution petition filed under Article 184(3) of Constitution on behalf of the petitioners namely Munir Hussain Bhatti advocate and Kamran Murtaza advocate.

Their counsel contended that names were securitized in detail by the Judicial Commission and forwarded/recommended extension in service of 24 Judges of the LHC for one year period to the Parliamentary Committee but the Committee accepted the recommendations of Judicial Commission by endorsing recommendations over 20 Judge while rejecting names of four Judges including Justice Muhammad Yawar Ali, Justice Syed Mazahir Ali Akbar Naqvi, Justice Mahmood Rashid Sheikh and Justice Muhammad Farrakuh Irfan Khan.

The petitioners have prayed that the Court may be pleased to accept their petition, quash the recommendations of the Parliamentary Committee in respect of the four Judges of the Lahore High Court and direct the respondent to implement the recommendations of Judicial Commission.