New Zealand to bowl first in crucial ODI

New Zealand captain Ross Taylor won the toss and elected to bowl first against Pakistan in the crucial fifth one-day international at Seddon Park on Thursday.

A win for Pakistan would give them the six-match series with a game to spare while New Zealand need to win to keep the series alive.

Taylor was handed the New Zealand captaincy when regular skipper Daniel Vettori was ruled out on the morning of the match because of a hamstring strain suffered in the fourth game in Napier on Tuesday.

Opening batsman Jesse Ryder, who missed the Napier match because of an injured finger returns to the side.

New Zealand are resting Tim Southee, who has played in every match so far, as well as Kane Williamson, and have brought back regular new ball bowler Kyle Mills.

In the the Pakistan side Shoaib Akhtar replaces Sohail Tanvir in their bowling line up.


New Zealand – Ross Taylor (captain), Martin Guptill, Jesse Ryder, Jamie How, Scott Styris, James Franklin, Brendon McCullum, Jacob Oram, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Hamish Bennett.

Pakistan – Shahid Afridi (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Umar Akmal, Kamran Akmal, Abdul Razzaq, Shoaib Akhtar, Umar Gul, Wahab Riaz.