Malinga rested by Sri Lanka against Canada

Sri Lanka left out strike bowler Lasith Malinga for their opening World Cup Group A match against unfancied Canada on Sunday.

Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara won the toss and elected to bat first.

Malinga was rested due to a sore back, Sri Lanka team manager Anura Tennekoon said, as the 1996 World Cup winners opted for all rounder Thisara Perera and both spinners, Muttiah Muralitharan and Ajantha Mendis.

Malinga was one of the leading performers in the last World Cup taking four wickets in four balls in a Super Six match against South Africa. Sri Lanka lost in the final to Australia.

The match is being played at one-day cricket’s newest international venue, the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium, one of the largest cricket grounds in the world.

Only one match has been so far played in the ground between Sri Lanka A and Pakistan A in September, which saw all 40 wickets fall for just 505 runs without an individual half century.

The stadium built at a cost of US$ 7.86 million is expected to be one of the top venues for the 2011 World Cup.


Sri Lanka – Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Mahela Jayawardene, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Kapugedera, Angelo Mathews, Nuwan Kulasekara, Muttiah Muralitharan, Thisara Perera, Ajantha Mendis.

Canada – Ashish Bagai (captain), Rizwan Cheema, Harvir Baidwan, Tyson Gordon, Henry Osinde, John Davison, Ruvindu Gunasekera, Khurram Chohan, Jimmy Hansra, Zubin Surkari, Balaji Rao.