India elects to bat against England

India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat against an England side that was missing bowler Stuart Broad in their World Cup Group B match at the Chinnaswamy Stadium on Sunday.

England captain Andrew Strauss says Broad is unwell.

Both sides go into the match after winning their opening fixtures. India defeated Bangladesh by 87 runs at Dhaka in the tournament opener on Feb. 19 while England beat Netherlands by six wickets at Nagpur on Tuesday.

India decided to go with an additional spinner, bringing in leg-spinner Piyush Chawla for pace bowler Shantakumaran Sreesanth.

For England, Broad and Ravi Bopara made way for Ajmal Shahzad and Michael Yardy.


India: Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Yusuf Pathan, Piyush Chawla, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel.

England: Andrew Strauss (captain), Kevin Pietersen, Jonathan Trott, Ian Bell, Paul Collingwood, Matt Prior, Michael Yardy, Tim Bresnan, Graeme Swann, James Anderson, Ajmal Shahzad.

Umpires: Billy Bowden, New Zealand, and Marais Erasmus, South Africa.

TV umpire: Rodney Tucker, Australia.

Match referee: Roshan Mahanama, Sri Lanka.