PM constitutes five-member committee for talks with political parties

Prime Minister Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani on Thursday constituted a five-member committee to establish contact with the leadership of all the political parties in the Parliament to obtain proposals for resolving national issues raised on the floor of both the houses of Parliament.

The members of the committee are Abdul Hafeez Sheikh, Minister for Finance, Raja Pervez Ashraf, Minister for Water and Power, Dr. Zaheeruddin Babar Awan, Minister for Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs, Syed Naveed Qamar, Minister for Petroleum and Natural Resources and Mian Raza Rabbani, Advisor to the Prime Minister.

Muhammad Ishaq Dar, leader of PML (N) contacted the Prime Minister this afternoon and apprised him of the formation of the committee by his party Quaid Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif, for dialogue on national issues.

The Prime Minister assured him that both the committees would meet soon to open up dialogue on national issues including the economic challenges.

Ishaq Dar, the leader of the PML (N) Committee conveyed the desire to meet the representatives of the government soon to initiate the discussions.