Pakistan win toss and bat in first ODI

Pakistan has won the toss and choose to bat in the first one-day cricket international of their series against New Zealand in Wellington on Saturday.

Pakistan skipper Shahid Afridi said that the Westpac Stadium pitch looked dry and they were looking to put a decent score on it.

“There are a few things we want to try out in the series, but let’s first see how things go,” he said shortly after the toss.

New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori believed the pitch would remain true throughout the match.

“We need to build some confidence leading into the World Cup,” Vettori added.


Pakistan: Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Hafeez, Younis Khan, Asad Shafiq, Misbah-ul-Haq, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Abdul Razzaq, Abdur Rehman, Sohail Tanvir, Shoaib Akhtar.

New Zealand: Jesse Ryder, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Scott Styris, James Franklin, Brendon McCullum, Jacob Oram, Daniel Vettori, Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Hamish Bennett.