Pakistan choose to field against NZ in 1st Test

Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-haq won the toss and chose to field in the first test against New Zealand at a sunny and humid Seddon Park on Friday.

New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori had said on Thursday he would have batted first anyway given the dryness of the wicket, though the only thing that would change his mind would be if the day was overcast and likely to assist his fast-medium bowlers.

New Zealand wicketkeeper Reece Young will make his test debut after Gareth Hopkins kept wicket during the series in India. Brendon McCullum had already decided to give up the role in the longer form of the game.

Pakistan offspinner Saeed Ajmal was ruled out after he had to return home following the death of his father. Adnan Akmal continues as wicketkeeper after making his debut against South Africa in Abu Dhabi in November.


New Zealand: Daniel Vettori (captain), Tim McIntosh, Brendon McCullum, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Jesse Ryder, Kane Williamson, Reece Young, Tim Southee, Brent Arnel, Chris Martin.

Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Taufeeq Umar, Azhar Ali, Younus Khan, Asad Shafiq, Adnan Akmal, Abdur Rehman, Umar Gul, Tanvir Ahmed, Wahab Riaz.