NZ names uncapped spinner in WCup squad

New Zealand has named uncapped left-arm spinner Luke Woodcock in its 15-man squad for next month’s cricket World Cup.

Woodcock made his New Zealand debut in a Twenty20 international against Pakistan last month but has yet to represent his country at one-day or test level.

“Luke Woodcock has worked hard for his chance after forging an impressive record with Wellington over a number of years,” selection panel convener Mark Greatbatch said.

New Zealand squad: Daniel Vettori (captain), Hamish Bennett, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Jamie How, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Jacob Oram, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Scott Styris, Ross Taylor, Kane Williamson, Luke Woodcock.