Gas pilferage causes loss of Rs 256 million

The National Assembly Standing Committee on Petroleum and Natural Resources on Monday said that an amount of Rs 256 million were lost on account of gas theft.

The Federal Investigation Authority’s (FIA) report discussed by the committee which met with Sheikh Waqqas Akram in the chair said the gas pilferage incidents had massive loss which needed to be checked immediately.

The committee asked the Director General (Gas) to make full preparation on the particular issue to work out an effective strategy to the rising menace of gas theft which was a colossal loss of the revenues.

The committee also asked the Oil and Gas Regulatory Authority (OGRA) to immediately issue show cause notices to the Oil Marketing Companies (OMCs) that were violating the licensing conditions and their licences be terminated if they failed to comply with the OGRA’s instructions.

“The government should review the oil pricing mechanism to give maximum relief to the common man as they are already burdened with price hike and security related issues”, the committee’s members observed.

It said the strict action should be taken against those unscrupulous elements who exploited oil shortage crisis during flood days to earn money.

The committee also called the Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) in its next meeting to brief the measures for immediate stop of smuggling of spurious oil from Iran.

The committee said ministry should direct the Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited (SNGPL) was need to take disciplinary action against those officials who had been given illegal Gas connection to the villages in Faisalabad and Kot Radha Kishan, and send its report to the Committee within 30 days.

Managing Director SNGPL was directed to prepare transparent proposals for allocating Gas connections to the common man on merit basis.

The meeting was attended by Mian Abdul Haq alias Mian Mitha, Khurram Jehangir Wattoo, Mir Ahmadan Khan Bugti, Syed Anayat Ali Shah, Sheikh Aftab Ahmed, Muhammad Hanif Abbasi, Rana Muhammad Ishaq Khan, Abdul Waseem, Syed Haider Ali Shah, MNAs and senior officers of the Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Resources, SNGPL, SSGCL and OGRA.