PM constitutes NODMC to monitor funds for flood victims

Prime Minister Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani on Thursday constituted National Oversight Disaster Management Council (NODMC) to monitor in flow of funds for various phases of post-flood recovery and reconstruction.

The NODMC will be headed by U.A.G Isani, while the other members of the Oversight Council are Ejaz Rahim, Fauzia Naqvi, former Justice Mian Allah Nawaz, A.Z.K. Sherdil, Fazal-ur-Rehman, Fazlullah Qureshi, former Justice Sardar Muhammad Raza, Muhammad Azam Khan, former Justice Amir-ul-Mulk Mengal, Munawwar Khan Mandokhel, G.M.Sikandar and Tariq Masood.

The council will review plans for post-flood reconstruction and monitoring progress of implementation of reconstruction. The council will also interact with authorities relevant to reconstruction (Economic Affairs Division, Planning Commission, NDMAand provincial governments).

The NODMC will also ensure effective targeting and transparent disbursement of support to genuine victims. It will also be responsible to prepare quarterly reports for Council of Common Interests. According to the terms of reference, the Council will commission and supervise audits on utilization of funds.