England win toss and bat against Pakistan

England captain Andrew Strauss won the toss and elected to bat against Pakistan in the deciding fifth and final one-day international at the Rose Bowl here on Wednesday.

Strauss’s move meant Pakistan, who had reverse-swing expert Umar Gul in the side, would not be bowling under the floodlights as they’d done in the fourth one-dayer at Lord’s on Monday, where they won by 38 runs to level the series at 2-2 having been 2-0 down.

England made one change with all-rounder Luke Wright replacing left-arm spinner Michael Yardy.

England: Andrew Strauss (capt), Steven Davies (wkt), Jonathan Trott, Ian Bell, Paul Collingwood, Eoin Morgan, Luke Wright, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, James Anderson.

Pakistan: Kamran Akmal (wkt), Mohammad Hafeez, Asad Shafiq, Mohammad Yousuf, Fawad Alam, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi (capt), Abdul Razzaq, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Shoaib Akhtar.