ICC announces WC 2011 warm-up schedule

With just six months to go before the start of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, the ICC has announced the schedule of warm-up matches for the flagship event which will be staged in India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

The warm-up fixtures will be played across the three host countries with Bangalore, Chennai, Chittagong, Colombo, Dhaka, Nagpur and Pallekele as venues.

Each of the 14 competing sides will play two warm-up matches with four-time and reigning world champion Australia taking on India and South Africa on 13 and 15 February in Bengalore.

Sri Lanka, one of the co-hosts, will go head to head with the Netherlands and the West Indies on 12 and 16 February in Pallekele and Colombo respectively.

The 1992 world champion Pakistan meets Bangladesh and England in Dhaka on 15 and 18 February.

India’s second match, after the one against Australia, will be against New Zealand in Chennai on 16 February.

The ICC president Sharad Pawar was confident that the 2011 edition of the tournament will be more successful than its nine predecessors.

“Today means that the start of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 is exactly six months away. Let there be no doubt whatsoever that the ICC, along with the three co-hosts, will ensure that the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 is the best of all the World Cups staged so far,” Pawar said.

The following is the schedule of warm-up matches:

February 12:

West Indies vs Kenya at Colombo
Sri Lanka vs Netherlands at Pallekele
Zimbabwe vs South Africa at Chennai
Bangladesh vs Canada at Chittagong

February 13:

India vs Australia at Bangalore

February 15:

Ireland vs Zimbabwe at Nagpur
Kenya vs Netherlands at Pallekele
Australia vs South Africa at Bangalore
Bangladesh vs Pakistan at Dhaka

February 16:

Sri Lanka vs West Indies at Colombo
England vs Canada at Dhaka
India vs New Zealand at Chennai

February 18:

England vs Pakistan at Dhaka